A Journey of a Thousand Miles…

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. — Jeremiah 29:11

After almost a month of late nights, fretting, and a whole lot of one-on-one conversations with God as to whether I’m really good enough for just about anything…I nailed it! I just had my solution design presentation last Friday, and while it wasn’t perfect, I’m happy to say that with God’s help, I’ve finally landed the job that will launch me into the next cycle of my career journey. Come April, I’ll be a Solutions Architect…an occupation that will finally put the knowledge I gained with my Master’s to good use. I just had to give God thanks since I really wasn’t sure that I’d be able to get in. I may be entering the world of design from an odd angle, but I sure as heck don’t mind. No sir, I believe God when He says that His ways are higher than my own (Isaiah 55:9). Sometimes the strangest things will turn out to be oddly fortuitous when you’re walking with Him…and I’ll have to admit, it’s a little hard to get used to. But it’s all a part of learning to trust and to lean on Him for strength when you find yourself either out of your league or facing something that just overwhelms you.

My wife keeps telling me I’m bright. I’m not too sure about that. I do know one thing though…and that’s that I know how to work. Give me something to do along with a compelling reason and I’ll give it my best shot. It’s perhaps the one thing I know how to do and do well. If you were to put equate me to a character in Naruto, as much as I’d like to be someone cool like Kakashi or powerful like Gaara, I’d probably be more like a Rock Lee. Not particularly exceptional at anything, but I always go hard to get at my goals (no drinking for me though, not really into that sort of thing). I’ll confess though that sometimes the payoffs aren’t huge monetarily, but then again, money has never been one of my bigger motivations.

Rock Lee

If I get this angry in front of my boss...do you think he'll give me a raise o_O?

By and large, this last month has been a real exercise in faith. I prayed about this job for a number of reasons, but mostly because it would be more inline with my skillset and also because it would afford me more time with my wife. I’m presently on a shift system and there are times when I’m leaving home when my wife is just getting in–I absolutely hate that. They say the first two years are critical, and I’m actually seeing where having a synched schedule is a big plus. Some will say time management is all you need, but there are just some problems that time management cannot solve. If you’re on two different schedules, you’ll always have to contend with just a bit of emptiness and sadness when you don’t get to see each other enough, except on weekends (if you have them). I needed to get out of that. After all, when the kids come later, there’ll be precious little time together at that point. I’d rather not get into the whole scarcity thing from the outset. Long and short of it, this new job is a 9-to-5 and while I’ll still have to do some amount of work out-of-hours, I won’t need to be in office. Don’t get me wrong, if you’re single a shift system actually won’t be such a big deal. But when you’ve moved on from that life and into marriage, I’m of the opinion that you might need a little more stability to make things work. This is a personal thing…there are persons (and marriages) out there that function just fine on a shift system. At this point in my life, I’m just not one of them.

 

Change Ahead

Wait...didn't I just pass this sign a couple miles back?

They say that change is the only thing that’s really guaranteed to happen in life (well, they say that about death too but let’s not get too morbid). As I move into this new role, I pray that I’ll be able to handle everything that’s thrown at me, all to the glory of God. I’m running the race, and I’ve realised that this is not the end–but rather the beginning of the second leg. How long this will go for, I don’t know, but then again I don’t have to. That’s for God to know and for me to find out. He’ll help me through it. The thing about change is that it affects something that we’d prefer to remain undisturbed–our comfort zone. That little bubble of peace (and sometimes that peace is quite false I assure you) while all well and good can sometimes become a trap of complacency, even for those of us with the best intentions. That’s actually one of my greatest fears, and I hope that I will never allow this to get the better of me. For inside that bubble, my greatest enemy is indeed myself. And without God, I may as well stagnate and waste away. But with Him, I’ll be safe since He’ll guide me along. For those of you who maybe encountering change, be it good or bad, always remember that God is there for you. Where those around you may fail, He will come through. You won’t find any other like Him. ‘Memba mi told yuh!

In thinking about everything, and trying to decide on a song of praise to capture it all, I decided on “Voice of Truth” by Casting Crowns. Check it out below and hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I do.

Blessings til next time!

Josh.

Leave a Reply

